Hope.

I love the concept of mornings before dawn, I’ve just never been one who could rise up easily to meet them. I’m a night owl, so the early hours are rough for me most of the time.

I quickly swiped my alarm at 5:30am, determined, as usual, to snooze a few minutes. But even with my eyes shut, my mind kept thinking about how hard it is for me to get up early! Over and over again I thought, Why don’t I just go to bed early so I can get up early and have a better handle on my day?

Then the word hope put a quick stop to the mental whining. I couldn’t go back to sleep, so I just laid in the bed trying not to think, but doing it anyway… hope.

What?

Hope.

In spite of my strong will to get more sleep, I didn’t.

I knew it was God knocking, so I finally separated myself from the bed and looked up scriptures on hope. I settled on Philippians 3:13-14, where Paul says,

No, dear brothers and sisters, I have not achieved it, but I focus on this one thing: Forgetting the past and looking forward to what lies ahead,  I press on to reach the end of the race and receive the heavenly prize for which God, through Christ Jesus, is calling us. (NLT)

I know that’s what God wants me to do:  forget.

To stop thinking about, talking about or dwelling on a shortcoming or what is not, and instead focus on what is ahead.

Of course we need to remember many things in order to live this life, but there are many things we need to forget in order to live life better, different and more free. There’s a key to hope and change and more, and it is to forget about the disappointing and the negative.

This morning, as I tried to rehearse and remind myself of even the smallest struggle, I instantly forgot about it the moment my thoughts literally turned to the word hope. 

I never fell back asleep, even though I had plenty of minutes to spare. I heard hope, forgot about how tired I was, and just went ahead and set the tone for my day — early.

And the sunrise was everything perfect.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13 NIV

Leave a Reply

